This truly beautiful picturesque summer house overlooking a delightful little waterfall plunging into a pool on Rydal beck was created by Sir Daniel le Fleming in 1668 for him to sit and enjoy the view. It is believed to be one of the oldest viewing stations in the Laker District. The famous poet William Wordsworth enjoyed visiting this little grotto and included it in one of his poems “An Evening Walk”.
The grotto is on the Rydal Hall estate that was founded in the 1600s. It has beautiful gardens & woodlands to discover on their grounds with sculpture paths that twist their way through the forest. One amazing landmark on the estate is the ancient sweet chestnut tree that dates back to around 500 years.