The Castle, nestled in Cumbria, believed to be standing on Roman remains, is a key part of the region’s history. Whilst the Pennington family have recorded evidence of this historic house as being their home since 1208 when lands were granted to Alan de Penitone, some records go back further suggesting that the family have been here since at least 1026.
A castle was built in the later 13th century and enlarged in the 14th when a pele tower was erected on Roman foundations (which would date back to 79AD), part of its fabric being incorporated in the south-west tower. A coin from the time of Emperor Theodosius (AD380) has been found, and there is also a Victor ring.
The Hawk & Owl Centre
The Hawk & Owl Centre within the gardens of Muncaster Castle is open daily Easter to early November and at weekends Nov-Dec & Feb-Easter. The Centre and the inspiring flying displays are included in your ticket.
The history of the gardens stretches back centuries. The estate has been in the hands of the Pennington family for over 800 years and many fashions in horticulture have come and gone over this period, though the gardens have always been amongst the best of their kind. The earliest surviving feature dates from the 1780s – the magnificent terrace built by the first Lord Muncaster. As well as extending and remodelling the Castle, he carried out huge improvements in the gardens including planting hundreds of thousands of trees, providing the shelter required for the exotic collections of later generations, and building the grand entrance gates.